Office of Justice Programs (OJP)

Frequently Asked Questions

Under Categories 1 and 2, who is eligible to apply?

Public charities, defined by the Internal Revenue Service under section 501(c) (3) of the Internal Revenue Code, including tribal nonprofit organizations, tribal enterprises, and education institutions (public, private, and tribal colleges and universities) with experience providing legal assistance services to eligible individuals pursuant to federal poverty guidelines, and federally recognized Indian tribes (as determined by the Secretary of Interior), or tribal justice systems are eligible for Category 1. Federal poverty guidelines are updated every year by the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services at

Nonprofits are required to submit verification of their 501(c)(3) status with their applications. Other eligible entities are encouraged to submit verification of their entities’ status. 


Welcome, (Sign In or Register). padlock icon


Enter City, State or ZIP
Back to Top