Please enable JavaScript to allow page to load properly.

BJA Virtual Listening Sessions: Setting Priorities for Tribal Appropriations

During 2019, the Bureau of Justice Assistance (BJA) will host a series of listening sessions to gather the views of tribal stakeholders in order to inform the federal-tribal partnership and grant-making priorities for fiscal year (FY) 2019 and FY 2020.

This winter, BJA is hosting the following two webinar sessions:

Tribal Stakeholder Preparatory Session
Date: Wednesday, March 13, 2019
Time: 1:00–3:00 p.m. ET / 12:00-2:00 p.m. CT /
11:00 a.m.-1:00 p.m. MT / 10:00 a.m.-12:00 p.m. PT /
9:00-11:00 a.m. AKDT
Virtual Listening Session
Date: Tuesday, March 26, 2019
Time: 12:00–2:00 p.m. ET / 11:00 a.m.-1:00 p.m. CT /
10:00 a.m.-12:00 p.m. MT / 9:00-11:00 a.m. PT /
8:00-10:00 a.m. AKDT
Watch on YouTube

The sessions fulfill a FY 2019 Congressional directive that BJA consult closely with tribal stakeholders in determining how BJA tribal assistance funds will be awarded for comprehensive justice system planning; tribal justice facilities; court system enhancements; alcohol and substance abuse programs; civil and criminal legal assistance; alternatives to incarceration; addressing violent crime in Native communities; and other priorities. By identifying and clarifying those priorities, the sessions will result in more efficient delivery of needed grant funding, and in turn enhanced safety and security in Indian Country.

Stakeholders invited to participate include tribal leaders, tribal justice practitioners, grantees, evaluators/researchers, statisticians, tribal organizations, nonprofit organizations working on tribal issues, representatives of tribal, federal, state, and local governments working on public safety in Indian Country, tribal communities, or native villages.

Both sessions will be conducted via webinar and require prior registration. Both are closed to the press. Information about joining the sessions will be emailed to registered participants prior to the session(s). The Tribal Stakeholder Preparatory Session will be available for playback.

Session materials:

Tribal Stakeholder Preparatory Session –

  • Announcement
  • Framing Paper
  • Power Point Presentation
  • Recorded Session

If there are specific requests or questions, please email BJA at DOJtribalfunding@usdoj.gov.