Office of Justice Programs
Medal of ValorBJAMedal of Valor

2011-2012 and 2012-2013 Medal of Valor Awardees

On February 11, 2015, Vice President Joseph Biden and Attorney General Eric Holder awarded the Public Safety Officer Medal of Valor to 22 public safety officers (or their family members), listed below, who exhibited exceptional courage in saving and protecting others and whose heroic actions were above and beyond the call of duty. To learn about each recipient’s act of valor, click on the officer’s name.

2012-2013 Medal of Valor Awardees

  1. Lieutenant Brian Murphy and Officer Savan Lenda (Oak Creek Police Department, Wisconsin)
  2. Sergeants John MacLellan and Jeffrey Pugliese, Officers Joseph Reynolds, Timothy Menton, and Miguel Colon Jr. (Watertown Police Department, Massachusetts) and Firefighters James Caruso and Patrick Menton (Watertown Fire Department, Massachusetts)
  3. Ex-Chief John Curly (Bellmore Fire Department, New York)
  4. Special Agents Brocklyn Bahe, Christian Galeski, Matthew Nagle, Joseph Montoya, and Rodney Draper (Federal Bureau of Investigation, Alabama)
  5. Deputy Jenna Marie Underwood-Nuñez (Los Angeles County Sheriff’s Department, California)

2011-2012 Medal of Valor Awardees

  1. Sergeant Nathan David Hutchinson (Weber County Sheriff’s Office, Utah)
  2. Officer Andrew Michael Keith (Knoxville Police Department, Tennessee)
  3. Sergeant Bradley Alan Wick (Duluth Police Department, Minnesota)
  4. Fallen Senior Special Agent John Francis Capano (Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco, Firearms and Explosives)
  5. Fallen Officer Clifton Paul Lewis (Chicago Police Department, Illinois)
  6. Sergeant Michael Darrell Brown (Brevard County Sheriff's Office, Florida)