Office of Justice Programs
Medal of ValorBJAMedal of Valor

Previous Awardees

The Public Safety Officer Medal of Valor is awarded by the President to public safety officers cited by the Attorney General and recommended by the Medal of Valor Review Board. The board, which comprises representatives of the public safety community and the general public, reviews the nominations and recommends individuals for recognition.

2015 - 2016 | 2013 - 2014 | 2012 - 2013 | 2011 - 2012 | 2010 - 2011 | 2009 - 2010 | 2008 - 2009 | 2007 - 2008 | 2006 - 2007 | 2005 - 2006 | 2004 - 2005 | 2003 - 2004 | 2002 - 2003 | 2001 - 2002

2015 – 2016 and 2017 Medal of Valor Awardees

Watch the White House Medal of Valor Ceremony held on July 27, 2017.

  1. Special Agents Crystal Griner and David Bailey (United States Capitol Police), and Officers Nichole Battaglia, Alex Jensen and Kevin Jobe (Alexandria Police Department, VA)

Media Release - Attorney General Jeff Sessions Announces Public Safety Officers to Be Awarded Medal of Valor

  1. Corporals Rafael Ixco and Chad Johnson and Deputies Shaun Wallen and Bruce Southworth (San Bernardino County Sheriff's Department, CA), and Officers Nicholas Koahou and Brian Olvera (San Bernardino Police Department, CA)
  2. Lieutenant William Buchanan (Avery County Sheriff's Office, NC) and Emergency Medical Technician Sean Ochsenbein (Putnam County Rescue Squad, TN)
  3. Firefighter/Harbor Patrol Officer David Poirier Jr. (Redondo Beach Fire Department, CA)
  4. Chief Douglas Schroeder (Hesston Police Department, KS)
  5. Patrolman Andrew Hopfensperger Jr. (Antigo Police Department, WI)
  6. Engineer Stephen Gunn (Peoria Fire-Medical Department, AZ)

back to top

2013 – 2014 and 2014 – 2015 Medal of Valor Awardees

On May 16, 2016, President Barack Obama awarded the Public Safety Officer Medal of Valor to 13 public safety officers (or their family members), listed below, who exhibited exceptional courage in saving and protecting others and whose heroic actions were above and beyond the call of duty.

  1. Officer Mario Gutierrez (Miami-Dade Police Department, FL)
  2. Patrolman Louis Cioci (Johnson City Police Department, NY)
  3. Officers Jason Salas and Robert Sparks (Santa Monica Police Department, CA), and Captain Raymond Bottenfield (Santa Monica College Police Department, CA)
  4. Major David Huff (Midwest City Police Department, OK)
  5. Officer Donald Thompson (Los Angeles Police Department, CA)
  6. Officer Coral Walker (Omaha Police Department, NE)
  7. Officer Gregory Stevens (Garland Police Department, TX)
  8. Fallen Sergeant Robert Wilson III (Philadelphia Police Department, PA)
  9. Officer Niel Johnson (North Miami Police Department, FL)
  10. Special Agent Tyler Call (Federal Bureau of Investigation)
  11. Deputy Joey Tortorella (Niagara County Sheriff’s Office, NY)

back to top

2011 – 2012 and 2012 – 2013 Medal of Valor Awardees

The public safety officers listed below (or their family members) were awarded medals in a ceremony on February 11, 2015. To learn about each recipient’s act of valor, click on the officer’s name.

  1. Lieutenant Brian Murphy and Officer Savan Lenda (Oak Creek Police Department, Wisconsin)
  2. Sergeants John MacLellan and Jeffrey Pugliese, Officers Joseph Reynolds, Timothy Menton, and Miguel Colon Jr. (Watertown Police Department, Massachusetts) and Firefighters James Caruso and Patrick Menton (Watertown Fire Department, Massachusetts)
  3. Ex-Chief John Curly (Bellmore Fire Department, New York)
  4. Special Agents Brocklyn Bahe, Christian Galeski, Matthew Nagle, Joseph Montoya, and Rodney Draper (Federal Bureau of Investigation, Alabama)
  5. Deputy Jenna Marie Underwood-Nuñez (Los Angeles County Sheriff’s Department, California)
  6. Sergeant Nathan David Hutchinson (Weber County Sheriff’s Office, Utah)
  7. Officer Andrew Michael Keith (Knoxville Police Department, Tennessee)
  8. Sergeant Bradley Alan Wick (Duluth Police Department, Minnesota)
  9. Fallen Senior Special Agent John Francis Capano (Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco, Firearms and Explosives)
  10. Fallen Officer Clifton Paul Lewis (Chicago Police Department, Illinois)
  11. Sergeant Michael Darrell Brown (Brevard County Sheriff's Office, Florida)

back to top

2009 - 2010 and 2010 - 2011 Medal of Valor Awardees

The public safety officers listed below, or their family members, were awarded medals in a ceremony on February 20, 2013. To learn about each recipient’s act of valor and to view photos, click on the officer’s name. Click here to see more photos of the ceremony and other information.

  1. Officer Reeshemah Taylor
  2. Officer Julie Olson
  3. Wildlife Officer Michael Neal
  4. Fallen Trooper Joshua Miller and Trooper Robert Lombardo
  5. Officer Rafael Rivera and Officer Sean Haller
  6. Fallen Deputies William Stiltner and Cameron Justus
  7. Firefighter Peter Demontreux
  8. Deputy Sheriff Krista McDonald
  9. Sergeant Karl Lounge Jr., Officers Douglas Weaver, Max McDonald and Timothy McClintick, and fallen Sergeant Thomas Baitinger
  10. Captain William Reynolds and Firefighter Hope Scott

back to top

2007 - 2008 and 2008 - 2009 Medal of Valor Awardees

  1. Deputy Carl A. Beier
  2. Chief Randy D. Poindexter and Lieutenant Brian S. Sturgill
  3. Lieutenant Paul R. Pender, Jr., Acting Lieutenant Gerald J. Murphy, and Firefighter Frederick C. Johnston
  4. Detective Jared T. Reston
  5. Officer Pedro Garcia, III
  6. Captain Edwin Lynn O'Berry
  7. Officer Vidal Alberto Colon
  8. Fire Lieutenant William Ervin Appel, Firefighter/Paramedic Andrew Charles Neff, Firefighter/Paramedic Michael Scott Chellis, and Firefighter/EMT Timothy Allen Wisely

back to top

2006 - 2007 Medal of Valor Awardees

  1. Commander Miguel Galvez
  2. Officer David Goitia
  3. Detective Raymond Robertson
  4. Special Agent William Sentner
  5. Lieutenant Carlos Thompson

back to top

2005 - 2006 Medal of Valor Awardees

  1. Officer Kevin M. Howland, Sacramento, CA
  2. Firefighter David M. Loving, Richmond, VA
  3. Officer Todd M. Myers, West Hartford, CT
  4. Firefighter Brian D. Rothell, Chesterfield, VA
  5. Sergeant Kirk Van Orsdel, California Highway Patrol

back to top

2004 - 2005 Medal of Valor Awardees

  1. Officer Timothy Greene, Rock Hill, SC
  2. Firefighter Edward F. Henry, Charleston, SC
  3. Officer Bryan S. Hurst, Columbus, OH
  4. Officer Peter Alfred Koe, Indianapolis, IN
  5. Battalion Chief Gene F. Large, Jr., Fort Walton Beach, FL

back to top

2003 - 2004 Medal of Valor Awardees

  1. Officer Rodney Lee Chambers, Washington, DC
  2. Deputy Jennifer Fulford-Salvano, Ocoee, FL
  3. Agent Andrew J. Phillips, Marietta, GA
  4. Officer Thomas D. Richards, Lexington, KY
  5. Kansas City Missouri Fire Department, Kansas City, MO
    • Fire Capt. Phillip Atwood
    • Fire Capt. Patrick Martin
    • Firefighter David Bradley
    • Firefighter Marvin Donaldson
    • Firefighter Stephen Johnson
    • Fire Apparatus Operator Sean McKarnin

back to top

2002 - 2003 Medal of Valor Awardees

  1. James Ahern, Boston, MA
  2. John Ahern, Boston, MA
  3. Kevin Fitzhenry, Bayonne, NJ
  4. Michael Muniz, San Antonio, TX
  5. Barry J. Ralston, Amarillo, TX
  6. Marcus Young, Ukiah, CA

back to top

2001 - 2002 Medal of Valor Awardees

  1. Robert Giorgio
  2. Keith Borders
  3. Eric Svihovec
  4. Sean VanAtter
  5. Ron Kennett, Rick Klein, Robert Borer, Mike Wright, Guy Jones, and Jeremy Hosek

back to top